Book Review: This Side of Paradise 2.5⭐

This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

First F Scott’s novel, a rather short and semi-enjoyable read (less than 6 hours), a glimpse of background information about his own life and psyche, not exactly a page turner though. More than half way in then I saw the familiarity of melancholic and depressing style – the young man who struggled so much in life. It’s very F Scott, alright:

I simply state that I’m a product of a versatile mind in a restless generation- with every reason to throw my mind and pen in with the radicals. Even if, deep in my heart, I thought we were all blind atoms in a world as limited as a stroke of a pendulum, I and my sort would struggle against tradition; try, at least, to displace old cants with new ones. I’ve thought I was right about life at various times, but faith is difficult. One thing I know. If living isn’t seeking for the grail it may be a damned amusing game.

Despite the famous quote of “No sir, the girl really worth having won’t wait for anybody.” I was way more intrigued by the guidance character (who’s inspired by real priest Father Fay), “beware of losing yourself in the personality of another being, man or woman.”

Yet, perhaps, this is why we are here – He could not tell why the struggle was worthwhile, why he had determined to use to the utmost himself and his heritage from the personalities he had passed… “I know myself, but that is all.”

Leave a comment